Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-26-2015, 01:55 AM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Cross Canada Trip in August 2016

I'm just beginning to research where to go, what to see and how to get there for my trip. I'm going just through Southern Canada, ending up in Montreal, where I'll meet my son. I'm interested in knowing what others have enjoyed seeing and visiting. I like camping, but also museums.

How much are the tolls and are there a lot of them?

I saw the link to the Canada Discovery Pass and that looks like a good idea.

I'd appreciate whatever places or advice someone wants to share.
soohma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 03:44 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Other than a few bridges and ferries, tolls are few and far between.

You need to be more specific about where you are going: it's 5000 miles from one end to the other!
Old 11-26-2015, 05:57 AM   #3
Platinum Member

yes figure out your route-

Ottawa is the Capitol City and 120 miles from MTL.

Being the Capitol it has National Museums ( War, Natural History, Aviation, Canadian history etc.) and Galleries.
Ontario has Algonquin Park, which is beautiful with about 1/2 dozen campgrounds.

Canada has lots to offer, lots of space, variety of geology and landscape- and differing cultures.
Quebec is majority French speaking and signage will all be in French.
Some parts of Canada will use French and English.. other parts are pretty much unilingual one way or the other.
Through Quebec other parts, anyone who deals with Tourists will be Bilingual and ready to help

Most measurements are metric- 0.62 miles to the km. fuel is sold in liters...3.96 to the gallon.

the CDN $ is at about .75¢ US...so a good buy depending on what the CDN dollar does

If you can...Nova Scotia is way to the East- my former home and very worthwhile I think