Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-14-2019, 05:11 PM   #1

Default How much is too much?

Hello all,
Thanks in advance for your guidance. I've been researching Rialtas for about three months now, and have my sights set on an HD for some cross country travel with my dogs over the next several years. The good news is that there always seem to be several for sale nationwide, the less than good news is that there aren't many close to where I live to go see in in person.

Aside from that, my biggest question is about mileage on the Rialtas. I know there are many other factors to consider and that VW engines are work horses, but if you were buying one, what would be your cut-off?

My cut off used to be around 100K and when I don't see many for sale above that (and when I do, they're cheap) I wonder. Are people just hanging on them and driving them til they die, or is there a limit to where new transmissions, axles and other wear & tear beyond 100K make them too risky?

My thanks, see you on the road soon!
SG
sarahgj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 04:41 PM   #2
Platinum Member

It's not necessarily the mileage, it's the years.... I would caution you to consider that condition and price is everything. The last VW Rialta produced was in 2005.
Roadtrek Adventuous RS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 05:00 PM   #3
Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarahgj View Post
Hello all,
Thanks in advance for your guidance. I've been researching Rialtas for about three months now, and have my sights set on an HD for some cross country travel with my dogs over the next several years. The good news is that there always seem to be several for sale nationwide, the less than good news is that there aren't many close to where I live to go see in in person.