Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-16-2016, 03:18 AM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Adding Solar to Jucy

I recently noticed that Jucy has added a solar panel array to its vehicles to help charge the house battery. It is apparently a home brew add-on, with a series of panels. (If it's manufactured, I'd like to know by whom.) I'd love to add one to my vehicle, but am a complete novice in matters electrical, much less solar. So, what can you tell me from this photo? What wattage are these panels separately? How would I connect these panels together to replicate this array? Appreciate any help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg JucySolarPanel.JPG (31.7 KB, 21 views)
Old 06-16-2016, 03:27 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Doesn't seem worth the effort especially considering that big shadow on it.

"Il Travato Rosso"
2015 Travato 59g
eric1514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 03:34 AM   #3
Platinum Member

I'd likely mount it atop the "penthouse" - run it down the raised strip in the middle. Should give it a clear view of the sun.
Old 06-16-2016, 12:53 PM   #4
Platinum Member

If you are going to mount it on the top of the penthouse you might as well use a standard solar panel instead of a flexible one.
gregmchugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 02:13 PM   #5
Platinum Member

I would like to avoid the added bulk atop the penthouse. For that reason I prefer the thin profile. Why do you suggest the standard panel versus the flexible? Is there a performance advantage?
Old 06-16-2016, 02:41 PM   #6
Platinum Member

Standard panels would be less expensive and have more power. Flexible panels with the same power for the same size would be very expensive. If the lower power and added expense are acceptable then flexible would be fine. Is the top of the penthouse flat or does it have ridges? Not sure about mounting flexible panels in non flat surfaces...