Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-18-2016, 08:33 PM   #1

Default Battery voltage too high for inverter?

Hello all, I'm new to RVing but have had my fair share of DIY projects. Currently I'm a bit stumped. My two inverters are reading over-voltage on my house battery. One inverter is rated for 12VDC input with 120VAC output with 2000W constant and 4600W peak and its over-voltage light came on. My second inverter is rated for 12VDC input 120VAC output at 1000W constant and has a voltmeter which read 15 volts. I checked the battery with my multimeter and it read 9.6 volts. The on-board voltmeter installed by the previous owner (an electrical engineer) reads 14.1 volts.
I'm guessing my multimeter is messed up or has low batteries as the other three pieces of equipment read much higher voltage. So is there any way to step down the voltage from the battery to an inverter? Any and all recommendations are welcome!
zombk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 09:50 PM   #2
Platinum Member

I think the over voltage light is for the 120v side. Your batteries can't over voltage unless they are wired for 24v or your battery charger/converter is providing over 14v. Is this a new RV?
mojoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 11:01 PM   #3

No, the RV is not new, it's a 93 Roadtrek but the RV battery is just about brand new. I was thinking it's possible the big ol' Dodge 360's alternator may be pushing out high voltage, and with the house battery being in new condition it may be a couple volts high.

On my older inverter (with the built in voltmeter) it was reading Incoming voltage at 15V before pegging out. I know a fully charged brand new car battery can fully charge up to about 14V.

Do most people not put inverters in RV's? It seems like a cheap and easy solution to a generator.
Old 05-19-2016, 11:40 PM   #4
Platinum Member