Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-27-2017, 03:14 PM   #1

Default Can we relocate battery on 2003 Roadtrek Popular 200?

Has anyone relocated the 2003 Roadtrek Popular 200 battery to a more accessible place?

We have chosen to search for and buy a 2003 Roadtrek Popular 200. However, we will not be able to park the unit at our home, and have no way to plug it into shore power in storage. We will need to take the battery home with us at the end of trips to recharge it completely and to keep it charged if we don't use the unit for some months.

I confirmed with a Roadtrek tech that getting it out from under the coach will be almost impossible without a hoist --- they are not designed to be removed, naturally.

If you relocated the battery, where did you put it?

I have been researching Class B and Class C rvs for over 18 months and keep coming back to the Roadtrek Class B 200/210 because the layout works best for us. We are constrained to buy a unit that is at least 15 years old because of Canadian laws regarding imports from the U.S. So... the 2003 Popular 200 was our unit of choice until I read the manual. Not being able to relocate the battery may end up being a deal-breaker for us.

Thank you for helping if you can!
egraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2017, 03:19 PM   #2
BBQ
Platinum Member

1. Your batteries are probably fully charged after a long drive home. They should be ok for a couple of months

2. You should take the RV out for a drive every month, so that the batteries can be charged and the generator can be exercised.
Old 09-27-2017, 07:28 PM   #3