Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-27-2019, 05:02 AM   #1

Default Ecotrek battery NOT turning On, NOT charging. '18 Roadtrek RS

Newbie here. I've posted this question on FB, but didn't get resolution so I apologize in advance if this is a repeat. '18 RT RS Adventurous, 400ah Lithiums, 470w Solar. Had her for a month now and just recently, my left battery bank would NOT stay on. I would flip the switch and hit reset. After a few clicks in the rear, the voltage reading would turn on and then 5 seconds later, I would hear same clicking noise followed by flashing (slowly) blue light. I hooked up shore power for 24hrs and repeated the test but same results. I then, took it for a 30 minute ride (hoping the 2nd alternator would charge that bank) and same result. Now, the right battery bank works fine, turns ON w/ resting voltage reading of about 13.5. While the left bank turns on for 5 seconds, the voltage reading showed 12.8 to 13.1 as it fluctuates before turning off. It seems to me the charge is low (From the Owners manual - states it should be turned on by starting the engine first - didn't help) . Somehow BMS is not allowing the charge and turns it off. It's about 55F in Houston, so not below freezing. Any ideas why the left bank not charging???
ahamuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 03:28 PM   #2

UPDATE: Well, I spoke with KS2 this morning. Apparently, a lot of new owners have experience a failure in one of their battery banks after a few months of use due to incorrect wiring. The KS2 lithium battery has two hot terminals - charge and discharge. The Charge terminal suppose to have the inverter, solar and GU connected and the Discharge terminal has the AC/DC distribution panel and disconnects. I will need to go under to check the wiring and more than likely will need to replace battery.