Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2018, 03:19 PM   #21
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booster View Post
I saw a complete Elite 100ah system for about $1250 so that is not bad at all and could handle as much charging as the Nations would do without overheating.
Did a quick search and this sounds like what you are talking about.

GBS 100AH Cells
__________________

peteco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 03:21 PM   #22
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Arizona, Tempe
Posts: 568
Default

The place to start is to decide how much battery you need. Doesn't a compressor fridge take 130 amp hours per day?
__________________

hbn7hj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 03:37 PM   #23
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hbn7hj View Post
The place to start is to decide how much battery you need. Doesn't a compressor fridge take 130 amp hours per day?

Our compressor frig at 3.1cf uses between 17 and 40ah per day. At 5.0cf it might be 30-60ah or so depending on the weather and the quality of the venting.


If Boxster drives a bit every day as mentioned, he would have no issue recovery that much power into just the lithium battery, plus whatever the AGMs got at the same time.


With the relatively low cost of the Elite 100ah setup complete kit (allegedly), it he did the 100ah lithium and kept his assumed 220ah of AGM batteries, I think he would be in a very good spot, for reasonable cost.
booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 04:46 PM   #24
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Arizona, Tempe
Posts: 568
Default

Now find a place for 100ah of battery then work on the charging and switching.
hbn7hj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 10:56 PM   #25
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Arizona, Tempe
Posts: 568
Default

I don't think you are going to get us to tell you how to do it. You tell us how you are going to do it and you will get comments.

I prefer the built in BMS. Others the external one.

I will be putting a system in my 190 this winter. When I do I won't upgrade the alternator. I will look into adding a DC to DC charger powered by the alternator. Generator run times are so short it doesn't matter much.

The Kisae charger works very well but it also has a solar controller you won't be using. Perhaps there is a cheaper charger without solar. We should ask Interblog what she uses.
hbn7hj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 11:10 PM   #26
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,575
Default

IIRC, the Kisae was chosen to a large extent because it would limit current out of the lithium battery. With the Elite batteries being able t handle 3C discharge, and no solar needed, others could be used, I think.


I am working on a wiring diagram that would be a plain add on to an existing system similar to the earlier posted link. I think it can be done with one DC-DC charge, two bistable relays, and three double pole/single throw momentary switches, plus an Elite battery as long as it's BMS would terminate charging properly.


A Nations normal kit with Balmar would be used for the UHG.
booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 12:45 AM   #27
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,575
Default

Here is a first draft wiring diagram that would simplify the control of using the lithium to top off the AGM batteries.


Comments welcome and desired.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Simplified AGM top off from lithium.jpg (73.0 KB, 81 views)
booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 12:51 AM   #28
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booster View Post
Here is a first draft wiring diagram that would simplify the control of using the lithium to top off the AGM batteries.

Comments welcome and desired.

The switches in your drawing are highly pixelated and very hard to read. Can you try a higher resolution?
peteco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 12:55 AM   #29
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peteco View Post
The switches in your drawing are highly pixelated and very hard to read. Can you try a higher resolution?

It looks like the forum knocked down the resolution. I will do a bigger scan of just the switches. I have to get them from dwg format to jpg, so I do a screenshot and save so sometimes does this.
booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 12:59 AM   #30
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,575
Default

We will try this,






Attached Images
File Type: jpg switches only for simplified.jpg (61.6 KB, 82 views)
__________________

booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.