Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2017, 06:28 PM   #1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: COLORADO
Posts: 151
Default New Converter + GFI = NO BUENO! (Your thoughts?)

I changed out my original converter with a new 3 stage. Now when I plug in my rig at home it trips my GFCI on that circuit. The GFCI is in the house and the plug I use for my rig is the one outside my front door, but on the same circuit.

Has anyone else had this problem? Is the fix to simply remove the GFI from the circuit?

Anyhelp would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Mark
__________________

saenzm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 06:46 PM   #2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: COLORADO
Posts: 151
Default

By the way, it didn't used to trip when I plugged in my RV with the original converter.


Thanks,
Mark
__________________

saenzm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 06:51 PM   #3
BBQ
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East
Posts: 2,484
Default

.

Probably you wired it incorrectly?

Or maybe there is a short in your van?
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 07:55 PM   #4
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: COLORADO
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
.

Probably you wired it incorrectly?

Or maybe there is a short in your van?
Hummm, I bought my converter from best converters.com and followed teh instructions. I called the owner and asked him how to test the installation and he had me test it with a multi-meter. I did that and it all checked out. Do you think that could be the only problem?

Thanks,
Mark
saenzm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 08:01 PM   #5
Site Team
 
avanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3,267
Default

Too much current? What is the input current rating of the converter? It wouldn't be too surprising if the new one drew more current than the old one while bulk charging. Also, GFCIs have finite lifetimes, and they often get finicky when they are near end of life.
__________________
Formerly: 2005 Airstream Interstate (Sprinter 2500 T1N)
Now!: 2014 Great West Vans Legend SE (Sprinter 3500 NCV3 I4)
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 08:12 PM   #6
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Default

Measuring if installation was done correctly and the GFCI will not get triggered is not easy, GFCIs measure both currents on load and neutral and a 5 mA difference will trigger faults.

Which converter did you get? Your new converter should be wired exactly the same as the old converter and if it is and there is a problem it could be in your new converter, there is a leak somewhere.

George.
__________________
George
2013 Sprinter VOILA
https://goo.gl/photos/2NCR3teXLSwNYSwN8
GeorgeRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 09:53 PM   #7
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,574
Default

Some converters seem to be prone to tripping shore power GFCI sources. Very many of the Tripplite units do in the Roadtreks, primarily the ones made after 2007. Tripplite claims it is because they an active surge and power protection circuit in them, and there is nothing you can do except plug in to a non GFCI outlet.

Many other brands never seem to have a problems.

What brand and model do you have, and have you tested it on a non GFCI outlet?
booster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 02:46 AM   #8
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: COLORADO
Posts: 151
Default

I bought the WAFCO Ultra III conversion kit - part # WF8945 REP found here: 45 Amp Converter Replacement Kit

I have not tried plugging it into a non GFCI plug.

I have looked at the instructions, diagrams and pictures and I feel I did it correctly.

Is their any other way to test and make sure it's right?

Thanks,
Mark



Quote:
Originally Posted by booster View Post
Some converters seem to be prone to tripping shore power GFCI sources. Very many of the Tripplite units do in the Roadtreks, primarily the ones made after 2007. Tripplite claims it is because they an active surge and power protection circuit in them, and there is nothing you can do except plug in to a non GFCI outlet.

Many other brands never seem to have a problems.

What brand and model do you have, and have you tested it on a non GFCI outlet?
saenzm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 03:20 AM   #9
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Default

I used to have this unit on my previous RV and it was fine. This unit should draw at the most 5A from your GFCI outlet at full the charging current of 45A DC. Do you have other loads at the same time which could cause exceeding 15A most likely max capacity as Avanti mentioned earlier.

If not, I would check another GFCI and regular outlet. It is possible that the unit could be defective. Reviews on Amazon are good so I doubt that this unit has a history GFCI problems, I didnít.

George.
__________________
George
2013 Sprinter VOILA
https://goo.gl/photos/2NCR3teXLSwNYSwN8
GeorgeRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 03:24 AM   #10
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saenzm View Post
.....................
Is their any other way to test and make sure it's right?

Thanks,
Mark
GFCI is pretty sensitive instrument and likely best to test if you have a problem so plugging to another GFCI could be your best test.

George.
__________________

__________________
George
2013 Sprinter VOILA
https://goo.gl/photos/2NCR3teXLSwNYSwN8
GeorgeRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.