Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-04-2019, 03:34 AM   #1

Default Onan 2800 Microlite Starting Issues

Hi all,

Newbie here hoping someone here can offer some good advice.

2004 Roadtrek 190 Popular, Onan 2800 Microlite generator.

Got stuck in a mud hole for a few days. The generator may have gotten the very bottom submerged, but not very high on the unit.

Will not crank at all from remote panel, or the switch on the generator. Figured the place to start would be the fuse on the generator. There is supposed to be a 5 amp fuse on the side of the control box. Like this

On my unit, there is just a hole in the right side of the control box where the fuse and fuse holder should be. There is a label with an arrow to where the fuse should be, so I am assuming the assembly got pushed back behind the cover of the control box?

I can see one screw on the right side of the control box cover that's a real pain to get to. If I can get that screw out, will I be able to get the cover off and get to the fuse assembly? Are there any more screws holding it on that I can't see? Trying to do this without dropping the generator and there is not much room to work.

Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks!
JScottDMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 12:53 PM   #2
Platinum Member

The circuit breaker switch on the side of the control panel is held in with two screws (I think they are Phillips head screws). ON position is up.

The control panel is is held on with two hex head screws at the bottom of the case. These are below the green cover. Also, they may be rusted and frozen and may need to be drilled out.

On the upper part of the control panel, there are two black plastic push rivets (on either side of the start switch) these can be pried out., but the main screws are the two on the bottom.
Attached Images