Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-22-2016, 04:00 AM   #1
Sgp

Default Road trek - under hood or propane?

Any advice on which is the best generator option for a road trek - under hood generator or propane? Under hood would appear to be better, but I'm a newbie and totally clueless.
Sgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 01:32 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgp View Post
Any advice on which is the best generator option for a road trek - under hood generator or propane? Under hood would appear to be better, but I'm a newbie and totally clueless.
There are lots of discussions here on that topic, and related things. You could start with some searches to see them.

I don't think you, or anyone here, will be able to give much guidance until you have an idea of how you will be using the the Roadtrek. Things like how long in on one place, how much offgrid vs having shore power, how far you drive and how often, solar amount if any, refrigerator type (3 way or compressor), air conditioning needs, amount of batteries and type.

All of this, and more, go into the mix of which system would probably be the best for you, and your use patterns. Other folks have different needs.

We just removed our Onan last year, in our 07 C190P Roadtrek, and went with a big battery bank, big shore charger/inverter, solar, and a large (not stand alone) engine alternator. It suits our style of travel well.
booster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 01:57 PM   #3
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by booster View Post
We just removed our Onan last year, in our 07 C190P Roadtrek, and went with a big battery bank, big shore charger/inverter, solar, and a large (not stand alone) engine alternator. It suits our style of travel well.