Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-02-2016, 08:15 PM   #21
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManWonder View Post
As a relative newbie, I've been wondering why folks are okay with adding a second alternator - which requires running the engine to operate but - if you're going to have to start the engine it does seem you could just then turn on the van's built-in A/C.
True. Be aware, though, that extended idling of modern diesel engines is controversial, due to DPF issues. I personally would not idle my Sprinter all night. I think that second engine alternators only make sense in an RV if you drive more or less every day, as we do. Under this scenario, a second alternator can give you a substantial charge MUCH faster than any other option.
avanti is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 08:24 PM   #22
BBQ
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManWonder View Post
As a relative newbie, I've been wondering why folks are okay with adding a second alternator - which requires running the engine to operate but - if you're going to have to start the engine it does seem you could just then turn on the van's built-in A/C.
The 2nd alternator is usually a high-ampere output unit.

It is particularly useful when paired with a lithium battery, because lithium battery can accept a much higher charging ampere than lead-acid type.

If you use the chassis alternator, it will take ages to charge up your battery.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 08:44 PM   #23
Platinum Member

In keeping with the "Keep it simple" idea. Get a van with a gas engine and use that engine to do the heavy lifting directly, like heating and cooling.

The trend seems to be to do everything with electric and that leads to big batteries, big generators, etc.
DCHitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2016, 04:21 PM   #24
Platinum Member