Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-09-2016, 06:19 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Why Onan Generators Anyway?

I have been researching RVs for a couple of years and just bought a 2004 Roadtrek Popular 190. It has the ubiquitous Onan generator (2800). What has confounded me for a long time is why use these high maintenance generators when Honda and Yamaha (to name a couple) have much quieter and lighter options which can be easily converted to draw from the fuel tank in place of the Onans?
ManWonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 06:27 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManWonder View Post
I have been researching RVs for a couple of years and just bought a 2004 Roadtrek Popular 190. It has the ubiquitous Onan generator (2800). What has confounded me for a long time is why use these high maintenance generators when Honda and Yamaha (to name a couple) have much quieter and lighter options which can be easily converted to draw from the fuel tank in place of the Onans?
You can do a search on the subject here and find plenty of information on this topic. It all comes down to the fact that none of the other generators fit in the van mounted areas, with remote start. You have to lug them around, chain them up, hook up or fill up gas, start by hand, etc. Convenience vs noise--your choice.
booster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 07:44 PM   #3
BBQ
Platinum Member

Onan has lots of good features

eg.
There is a sensor connected to the fuel tank. If you ran the fuel level to less than a quarter tank, the Onan will shut itself off. So that you won't get stranded somewhere in the boondock.

There is a sensor connected to the oil pan. If the oil level is less than the minimum requirement, the Onan will not start. So that you won't ruin your generator and get stuck with an expensive repair bill.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote