Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-21-2018, 10:01 PM   #1

Default Family Friendly Class B - Advice?

Hello! Newbie here looking for advice on a family friendly Class B. My husband and I are avid tent campers (I like car camping so I can drink beer and eat hot dogs, he's more backcountry, freeze-dried food and no crowds) but we now have a toddler and another little one on the way so I think I have finally convinced him that a Class B is the way to go. Here's what I *think* I am looking for, but I appreciate any advice from other family campers!

- 4 captain's chairs. We'll be needing to put two carseats in the van for the next several years, so I think we'll need 4 captain's chairs for ease of car seats, handing the kids snacks, toys, etc.

- sleeping space for 2 adults, 2 kids. Ideally the space for the adults would be at least a queen size bed.

- don't really care about the bathroom set-up. I'd be fine with a porta-potty, no shower.

- simple kitchen is just fine with me. I think we'll still cook most meals outside, just use the kitchen during bad weather or to quickly make coffee, etc.

Thoughts on models to consider? Our max is $40k. Thanks for your advice!
Kitty_Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 12:16 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty_Q View Post
Thoughts on models to consider? Our max is $40k. Thanks for your advice!
Sorry to say it...but at 40k max...you mostly likely will have to build your own from a used cargo van.

If you find a used Class B with four captain chairs at 40K...jump at it asap because there are more buyers in this range than there are Class B campers.

The Aktiv and 59G do not have four captain chairs, but do have four forward facing seats...only one seat behind the driver has the child car seat anchor. I have not seen these two vans being sold for under 60K.