Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-03-2017, 10:23 PM   #1

Smile New Adventure in my 2003 Roadtrek 170

Hello all!

I'm very excited to be a new member in this group! I've been a travel nurse over the past 2 years and have finally taken the plunge and purchased a 2003 Roadtrek 170 to take from job to job. I'll be working my next assignment in California, driving out from the Midwest here in a few days. If anyone has any suggestions on places to stay/secret gems along the way let me know-- I'll be heading west by way of Austin,TX and Tucson, AZ/Joshua Tree NP to do some mountain biking & camping over the next 10ish days. Also, I'll be de-winterizing my Roadtrek for the first time... if anyone has any tips for newbies throw em my way & wish me luck! Hope to meet some of y'all along my travels!
Jsweetin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 07:29 PM   #2

Congrats on your purchase and happy trails to you!
hanesworthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 11:42 AM   #3
Silver Member

Congratulations! Our 170 is a couple years older. Be careful, sounds like you're starting your trip during this deep freeze. That's 4 tons of weight you're driving around!

Your route is sort of the reverse my son and I took back in 2010. We chose to follow the old historic route 66 which is essentially now hwy 40, but the old parts of 66 still accessible on/off the new highway. Especially coming from Illinois, you'll probably go portions of your drive on 66. Stop by Winslow.."take it easy" Jackson Browne...see La Posada hotel. Petrified forest, the big crater, Bryce canyon, Red Rock, Navajo lands, canyon de Chelly....too many to see. Never been on hwy 10 but I'm betting the old 66 will be more fun. And if you do go this way, a good quick guide book is the EZ 66 Guide by McClanahan.