Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2017, 03:27 AM   #261
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WingedRyno View Post
It was 13.39 before I started the engine with all 8 batteries charging. Flipped off the inverter and started the engine and it dropped.
Have you looked at the Balmar regulator, it should have lights on it that will blink status and errors IIRC? Avanti will probably be able to fill you in on procedure to check it, and you can get a manual online if you didn't get one with the van. It should also be fused, so that might be blown.
__________________

booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 03:59 AM   #262
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: CA
Posts: 705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booster View Post
Have you looked at the Balmar regulator, it should have lights on it that will blink status and errors IIRC? Avanti will probably be able to fill you in on procedure to check it, and you can get a manual online if you didn't get one with the van. It should also be fused, so that might be blown.
IIRC, the Balmar is programmed for both soft start and delay. Perhaps that is what is involved. I've noticed that the GU alternator voltage delivered wanders around and assume that it's the Balmar doing its multi-stage thing. If that was happening with a single stage external regulator, I'd be more concerned.

These Balmar regulators are programmed and supplied by Nations and I believe they supply it with a 15 amp inline fuse to address a field winding short. In the event of a regulator failure, RT deals with Nations, not Balmar. I plan to carry a spare.

I would be reluctant to tinker with the program which if discovered in a warranty claim would undoubtedly void the warranty.
__________________

cruising7388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 08:01 AM   #263
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WingedRyno View Post
So I think the only issue I have left is the A/C. It's in the 80s over here and yet the van gets up to 100 or so. The A/C blows out slightly cool air but not cold air and can't keep the van under 90 despite A/C on for hours on shore power. I'm guessing there is no way that can be normal because it would be a no go in this unit in the south during the summer for sure.

Once I get that fixed I'll test out the GU on a short road trip and test out the dumping and then we should be off to the races!
AC should be blowing cold air so something is not right. Regarding 100F inside the van with 80 F ambient, that is not right as well. What color is your van? Is insulation listed in the specification and if yes what kind?
__________________
George
2013 Sprinter VOILA
https://goo.gl/photos/2NCR3teXLSwNYSwN8
GeorgeRa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 11:26 AM   #264
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: WA
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeRa View Post
AC should be blowing cold air so something is not right. Regarding 100F inside the van with 80 F ambient, that is not right as well. What color is your van? Is insulation listed in the specification and if yes what kind?
The van is silver ice. No idea about insulation, it would be whatever the standard features of the Adventurous are.

I was basing the 100F number on the temp showing on the Alde screen (and sweat pouring from my face). Not sure where the Alde is measuring temp at though but the video I've seen from them online says it's room temperature. So it got to 102 yesterday and stayed in the 90s throughout the day. When the sun started to set it got down to 87.
WingedRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 11:43 AM   #265
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: WA
Posts: 187
Default

Last night while on shore power I turned off all ecotreks except #1. Ran the A/C for part of the night. This morning #1 is reading 14.21.

Definitely see how charging one at a time makes sense when all you have is 30 AMP coming in.
WingedRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 12:09 PM   #266
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: WA
Posts: 187
Default

One switch I don't understand is the Alde "summer pump" switch. The alde touchscreen is self explanatory. To the of it I have two switches. On says "summer pump" and then has a rocker switch and below that it says "on/off" - but the rocker switch returns to the same position and there is no indication I can see that the "summer pump" is on or off.

Below that switch is the "alde diesel" switch which when turned on shows a blue light.
WingedRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 12:16 PM   #267
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WingedRyno View Post
One switch I don't understand is the Alde "summer pump" switch. The alde touchscreen is self explanatory. To the of it I have two switches. On says "summer pump" and then has a rocker switch and below that it says "on/off" - but the rocker switch returns to the same position and there is no indication I can see that the "summer pump" is on or off.

Below that switch is the "alde diesel" switch which when turned on shows a blue light.
I donít know Alde but would not be surprised that summer loop disconnects the hydronic space circuit pump so only water is heated. Perhaps your 100F is due to Alde hydronic loop being heated.

Good luck,

George.
__________________
George
2013 Sprinter VOILA
https://goo.gl/photos/2NCR3teXLSwNYSwN8
GeorgeRa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 12:17 PM   #268
BBQ
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East
Posts: 1,474
Default

.

Check the air conditioner spec.

Usually, they can cool down 20 degrees of the ambient temperature
at x degree per hour.
__________________
BBQ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 12:28 PM   #269
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: WA
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeRa View Post
I donít know Alde but would not be surprised that summer loop disconnects the hydronic space circuit pump so only water is heated. Perhaps your 100F is due to Alde hydronic loop being heated.

Good luck,

George.
That is my understanding of what it does too. I just don't see any indication of on or off to know what position it's in. That could explain the issue though!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
.

Check the air conditioner spec.

Usually, they can cool down 20 degrees of the ambient temperature
at x degree per hour.
Awesome, thanks.
WingedRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 01:21 PM   #270
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: WA
Posts: 187
Default

I'm curious if the GU is working properly. I ran one ecotrek down for a bit. Then cranked up the engine. It started by showing 13.15 volts. I'm running inverter and powering one laptop (and frig). Idling now for ten minutes and it's showing 13.16 volts currently.

I was under the impression that with the GU and the engine idling, the A/C could be powered without discharging the battery (and arguably still charging the battery although I think many believe that isn't the case). But with the A/C off I would expect more of a voltage increase. So far no dice but maybe I'm just misreading things.

Edit: About 5 mins later and despite going up to 13.18 momentarily, it's now back down to 13.15.
__________________

WingedRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.