Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2017, 03:10 PM   #401
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: WA
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregmchugh View Post
Whenever you are connected to shore power and turn the inverter on, the battery charger in the inverter is attempting to charge the batteries.
When that is happening, will the converter in the inverter be doing that while the inverter appears to be off? The inverter has an LCD display up top and some graphics and lights and stuff -- will this converter process happen while all that is off?
__________________

WingedRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 03:24 PM   #402
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: WA
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booster View Post
Fancy title. That would kind of confirm he was the guy I met who was running the place, and is an employee in reality, not an owner. That would fit in with Dale buying Monticello from him news I saw.

If Wingedryno can get a chance to talk to Dale, I do think it would be a good idea. He has always tried to put the customers first, from all I have heard and seen.
I asked the sales guy to forward my lodging request to Dale. Thanks for that info. Hopefully between RT and the dealer, somebody can keep me local so I don't need to fly back. I can give them my time, but these hotel costs are quickly becoming more than I can afford.
__________________

WingedRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 03:33 PM   #403
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WingedRyno View Post
When that is happening, will the converter in the inverter be doing that while the inverter appears to be off? The inverter has an LCD display up top and some graphics and lights and stuff -- will this converter process happen while all that is off?
The RT inverter needs to be turned on at the wall panel and off on the inverter box in order to operate. If the wall switch is on but you are not on shore power and all the Ecotreks are offline then the inverter should appear to be off (it has no power source) but if an Ecotrek came back online it will likely start operating since the wall switch is in the on position.
gregmchugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 03:39 PM   #404
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: WA
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregmchugh View Post
The RT inverter needs to be turned on at the wall panel and off on the inverter box in order to operate. If the wall switch is on but you are not on shore power and all the Ecotreks are offline then the inverter should appear to be off (it has no power source) but if an Ecotrek came back online it will likely start operating since the wall switch is in the on position.
During my overnight mystery, the inverter was turned on at the wall switch and off on the box and it was on shore power. The Ecotreks were all offline and the inverter appeared to be off.

In the morning one of the EcoTreks had popped online but the inverter still showed no power (didn't show shore power on the panel, either). But once I reset the EcoTrek that was online, everything popped online.

At this point it seems to me that with all EcoTreks offline even shore power will not power the inverter/converter.
WingedRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 03:44 PM   #405
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WingedRyno View Post
During my overnight mystery, the inverter was turned on at the wall switch and off on the box and it was on shore power. The Ecotreks were all offline and the inverter appeared to be off.

In the morning one of the EcoTreks had popped online but the inverter still showed no power (didn't show shore power on the panel, either). But once I reset the EcoTrek that was online, everything popped online.

At this point it seems to me that with all EcoTreks offline even shore power will not power the inverter/converter.
That would not be normal, is it possible that the shore power was not getting to the inverter due to a tripped circuit breaker either on the front side of the inverter or in the circuit you were plugged into?
gregmchugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 04:23 PM   #406
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: WA
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregmchugh View Post
That would not be normal, is it possible that the shore power was not getting to the inverter due to a tripped circuit breaker either on the front side of the inverter or in the circuit you were plugged into?
No, power was good on the cord and all the lights were illuminated. And later (after overnight when a module came online for some reason) shore power was able to power everything without any c/bs being reset.

Are you saying that shore power should have powered the inverter/converter despite all the EcoTreks being offline?
WingedRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 04:28 PM   #407
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,885
Default

I think that folks that have some knowledge of the systems might do us all a favor and make a sketch of the how they understand the power system to be wired. With two imputs, lots of chargers, a billion switches, inverters, etc. A picture is worth 1000 words, or more, as they say.
booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 04:31 PM   #408
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregmchugh View Post
That would not be normal, is it possible that the shore power was not getting to the inverter due to a tripped circuit breaker either on the front side of the inverter or in the circuit you were plugged into?
i'm pretty sure this has come up before on the other site. the inverter/charger needs an active battery in loop to accept any shore power. I have no idea why but i think others have commented on this
gerrym51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 04:43 PM   #409
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerrym51 View Post
i'm pretty sure this has come up before on the other site. the inverter/charger needs an active battery in loop to accept any shore power. I have no idea why but i think others have commented on this
Most inverter/chargers or plain chargers need to see the 12 of a battery to initiate themselves. Some even check to see if it is a real battery that will accept charging amps before going full on. It is to protect the rest of the system because without a battery, the charger will not be able to hold accurate voltage. If it were a true 12v power supply, it would be not need to have the battery in the circuit to function.
booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 05:00 PM   #410
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerrym51 View Post
i'm pretty sure this has come up before on the other site. the inverter/charger needs an active battery in loop to accept any shore power. I have no idea why but i think others have commented on this
As I recall people have had the inverter on with only shore power and no Ecotreks online and reported that the 12v power was very unstable. Better info can be had over on the owner's Facebook group, not many owners here to share info.
__________________

gregmchugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.