Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-21-2013, 02:00 AM   #1

Default Newbie - 1995 Rialta QD - Oregon

I've been eyeing Rialta's for about seven years. The timing was finally right -- and I found a great 1995 Rialta QD with 75,000 miles. It has brand new tires. I bought it through RV Sales of Oregon -- and they were great to work with. I took it an independent mechanic and RV Sales agreed to repair all of the issues the mechanic found. They also replaced the window screens, gave me a new stereo, and lots of extras. Can't wait to take it to the Oregon Coast. Only thing missing is the head rests for the two back passenger seats. We're hoping that the previous owner still has them.

One thing I'm reading about is watching the transmission fluid when traveling up hills for any lengthy period of time, due to the 5 cyl engine. Not sure whether this is a real concern or an urban myth. I'd like to find other Rialta owners near Eugene, OR.

I'm considering adding a kayak roof rack. I've seen some posted online. Any tips are welcome. I'm wondering if most people use sleeping bags or have some other suggestion for beeding with the back benches that convert into a bed?

emadison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 04:25 PM   #2
GJS

Hi Ed,

I'm in Victoria BC. I purchased a 95 QD in early November this year and am in the process of getting to know it.

I drove it home (2200 miles) from Green Bay Wi. It ran well and managed the hills just fine.

I am getting it ready for a major rooad trip in March. Victoria–>Palm Springs—>New Orleans—> Florida—> Utah —> Victoria.

I'm going to be replacing the transmission fluid and filter as well as the timing belt before we go.

If you have not had the timing belt done on yours at 60-70K miles, it should be done.