Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-20-2016, 04:14 PM   #1

Default Newbie Needs Some Help

Hello All,

I'm brand new to the world of RVs and getting ready to make my first purchase. I already know I want a class b and after a lot of research I've decided on a Roadtrek SS Agile for a number of reasons (size, driving ease, warranty, quality, value retention, etc.). So here are a few quick questions and any help or experienced opinions would be much appreciated!

First I should explain the kind of use I'm planning. I'll be using my class b for a little bit of everything - short weekend trips up the coast or to the desert as well as longer, extended tours around the state and possibly the country. I expect to use RV parks and campgrounds at times, but also want to be able to just pull over somewhere and spend the night or go off the beaten path and be able to know that I can keep myself and two dogs comfortable in the heat or the cold. Ok, now the questions:

1) 4 cylinder vs. 6 cylinder - Aside from better mileage with the 4, what are the major advantages or disadvantages of one versus the other. I've heard that they are both great, however the 4 is a bit noisier and can't accommodate the under hood generator.

2) Underhood Generator - is this the way to go? Have there been any issues with them?

3) The most confusing aspect for me is the entire electrical system and I'm wondering what I need to get versus what would be overkill. Are things like Ecotrek and Voltstart important? Lithium Ion batteries? How much battery power do I need?

Thanks in advance!

Alex
alex668 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 06:32 PM   #2
Rok
Platinum Member