Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2017, 07:33 PM   #1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 881
Default 2005 Chev 3500 chassis OBD II data- scanner

My previous owner had a Scan Gauge II on the van- showed some stuff, no tranny fluid temp- which is one of the key areas of interest.
( scangauge itself cannot tell me which data can or cannot be displayed).

I have an OBDII scanner which works on my other vehicles- not on the Chev- the scanner manufacturer thinks because the Chev is a commercial chassis.

Similarly, the smog test has to be done on rollers as they can;t read data from GVW over 6000#...they tell me. all the other stuff they just plug in.

So, is anyone using a similar chassis and a scanner to view data incl. tranny temps?

Thanks, Mike
__________________

mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 07:41 PM   #2
Platinum Member
 
markopolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 7,814
Default

You can add a custom gauge (an x-gauge) on a Scangauge for transmission fluid temperature. Check this link: http://www.classbforum.com/forums/f8...html#post16752
__________________

__________________
Two bikes on sliding cargo box: https://www.classbforum.com/forums/m...icture206.html & 1997 GMC Savana 6.5L Turbo Diesel Custom Camper Van Specifications: https://www.classbforum.com/forums/f...vana-5864.html
markopolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 08:00 PM   #3
Bud
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: LA
Posts: 840
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkguitar View Post
My previous owner had a Scan Gauge II on the van- showed some stuff, no tranny fluid temp- which is one of the key areas of interest.
( scangauge itself cannot tell me which data can or cannot be displayed).

I have an OBDII scanner which works on my other vehicles- not on the Chev- the scanner manufacturer thinks because the Chev is a commercial chassis.

Similarly, the smog test has to be done on rollers as they can;t read data from GVW over 6000#...they tell me. all the other stuff they just plug in.

So, is anyone using a similar chassis and a scanner to view data incl. tranny temps?

Thanks, Mike

I know little about this, but I purchased a Bluetooth interface for maybe 12-14 dollars. There are lots of software apps that you can download with your smartphone from between free and I don't know how much.

Bud
Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 09:59 PM   #4
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 881
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markopolo View Post
You can add a custom gauge (an x-gauge) on a Scangauge for transmission fluid temperature.]
Thanks- quick look shows this is better info than scanguage would/could give me by email

Mike
mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 01:48 PM   #5
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,586
Default

Scangauge has a section on the website with all the "X guage" settings for the various vehicles. You should find the codes you need there. We use the transmission code on our 07 Chevy, and others have used them on earlier and later, so you should be OK.

https://www.scangauge.com/x-gauge-commands/gm/
booster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 03:25 PM   #6
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 881
Default

Thanks- going back and forth, possible previous owner had different firmware version?

I'll watch for a deal on a SCII

Thanks, Mike
mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 05:10 PM   #7
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkguitar View Post
Thanks- going back and forth, possible previous owner had different firmware version?

I'll watch for a deal on a SCII

Thanks, Mike
Are you sure it is not an original Scangauge, not a II? If it is a II you should be able to get an upgrade for pretty cheap.

https://www.scangauge.com/support/upgrade/
booster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 06:18 PM   #8
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 881
Default

sorry i was unclear- the P/O kept the SC for use on his other vehicles.

there was a mount on the dash and that started the conversation about monitoring...and then his inability to get tranny temp.

I'll have to get my own SC II, as above my obd scanner won;t read the commercial 3500 chassis ( it seems)


mike
mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 07:09 PM   #9
Bud
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: LA
Posts: 840
Default

I know little about this scan whatever stuff, but I'm wondering........

I had this delivered to my mailbox for $12.99:

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Hey, the display looks really cool, and as Jay Leno will tell you, Cool is important.

You can use it with a phone that has no service, or your own phone.

Why would I want a scan gauge thing? Better software than you can have with a smartphone?

Thank you.

Bud
Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 08:22 PM   #10
BBQ
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East
Posts: 2,484
Default

.

Basically the same thing.

You need to buy a software app for your smartphone to work with this OBDII reader.
eg Torque Pro.

You can get a free app, but they don't do much.
__________________

BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.