Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-11-2014, 09:07 PM   #1

Default Absolute and total newbie

Hi folks,
I have never owned an RV and have only slept in a class C once so I don't even know what questions to start with.

Here's our brief history. My wife and I are in out late fifties. We live in Montana andI have a seasonal business that is closed from Nov to April. We love long road trips and prefer to stay in one location for 2 weeks or less. Up until now it has been motels/vacation rentals/, and cottages. Many of our side trips have been skipped because of distance from any lodging, and I thoroughly dislike tenting! We have perused every type of RV available (from the unimog to the 42 bus)With our lifestyle we have decided on the class B 3500 sprinter chassis. That's as far as we can go at this point because we don't know anything we need to know and we don't know where to start. Can somebody point me in the right direction. I've tried to find a sprinter to rent for a month but so far that has been a waste of time. We plan on purchasing our RV in late 2015 or early 2016.
Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 09:58 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Default Re: Absolute and total newbie

Welcome

Here's a lot of information. Long post! Don't worry if none of it make sense right now - it soon will.

As an overview, typically you get all or most of the following in a Class B van:

Isolator or Battery Separator – separates house battery from engine battery to prevent a dead engine starting battery but allows all batteries to get charged when engine running.
House Battery(ies) – provides 12v power to the coach to lights, fan & water pump etc.
House Battery Disconnect Switch – disconnects the house battery to prevent discharge when you are not using the RV.
Converter – provides 12 volt DC for lights etc. and charges house battery when plugged into utility power.