Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-25-2008, 07:09 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Advice needed - Insurance while living in an RV

A forum member sent me this in an email:

Quote:
I'm new at RVing and am located in an RV park; I drive my car to work & have to live in my self contained camper van for awhile due to financial constraints. I'd like to know if I must carry full auto insurance even though I do not drive my camper-van anywhere. ? What if someone backs into me causing damage? I have to cut costs to the bone & thank you for your assistance.
The answers to your questions will vary depending on where you live.

Some things to check: (based on where I live)

1. Do the campground rules require that you have current "on the road" insurance? Are they allowed to have your RV towed to an impound lot if you don't?

2. Does your insurance policy allow you to live in your RV? Can they void coverage if they find out you are living in your RV? Can you add a rider that permits you to live in your RV?

Where I live, I can purchase a "vehicle in storage policy". I buy it for the winter months. It is very inexpensive. You can purchase all perils coverage, even liability coverage, but the policy will not cover any RV that is used as living accommodation at any time.

Does anyone here have any advice for this forum member? Let's hear it.
markopolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 07:45 PM   #2
Silver Member

Wierd timing for this subject.. I have a house about 130miles from where I work..

Up to now, it's been a great araingement between my girlfriend and I, staying at her place during the week (1 mile commute to work!) and only making the 260mi. round trip back home on the weekends.

Well, she's moving her elderly mother in in a few months, so I'm looking at the same situation as the other poster. ..kinda..