Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-01-2018, 04:29 AM   #1
Bronze Member

Exclamation and the definition of Four-Season is....

Hi, I'm new to this form and the RV world.

Basically, we are considering buying a B or B+ that meets the following:
1) Four-Season usage
2) 4 seat-belts and sleeping for 4 (although 90% of the time just 2 people)

The coach is going to be based in St. Louis and winter is December - March
where the night temps easily get to 10F to 20F
and the day temps get to 30F to 40F

Apparently, there is NO definition of "Winter" to the RV world
I guess the fresh water tank should be insulated or inside the coach
the coach is heated to some temperature - like a min of 60F?
and the gray and black tanks have heating pads
this sounds like the coach should survive 25F if there isn't a raging snow storm.

anyway it sounds like Dec to Mar in St. Louis is probably out of the question
unless??????

thanks for any feedback
Maui Sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 04:40 AM   #2
Platinum Member

From reading other posts on the forums here, it appears that opinions differ on what "4 seasons" mean. There are numerous posts about heated lines and tanks that I'm sure some people can assist you with.

Where I'm from, "4 seasons" means a high of +40 to a low of -40 (104 to -40) with high humidity in the summer. It would be really hard to keep from being a Popsicle in a motorhome at -40.
Bruceper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 12:23 PM   #3
Platinum Member

A big problem is finding dump stations that are open in winter.

With enough heat and insulation etc. your liquids can remain liquid but what do you do when your tanks are full?
markopolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 02:54 PM   #4
Bronze Member

Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by markopolo View Post
A big problem is finding dump stations that are open in winter.