Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-06-2015, 01:35 PM   #1
Silver Member

Default Basic help please

We have purchased a Sprinter 170" extended with the 7' inside head room; and are building a Class B RV. Our intention is to install the Nations 270 Amp Alternator instead of a diesel generator. (We're doing our best to avoid propane.)

I understand the solar panels and controller, the lithium battery bank, and the shore power. We're prepared to install the high capacity inverter, etc.

My question (and it's hard to get info from Roadtrek when we're building our own): Does the 270 Amp Alternator feed the batteries, the batteries feed the inverter, and then on to the AC distribution panel? Or does the Alternator feed the inverter directly? And the batteries are charged from a converter fed from the AC panel?

I know this may sound basic to many, but my background is engineering on ships and boats and some of the new electrical/electronics equipment is an educational opportunity for me. Thanks in advance for your help.

tex4judy
tex4judy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 01:43 PM   #2
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by tex4judy View Post
My question (and it's hard to get info from Roadtrek when we're building our own): Does the 270 Amp Alternator feed the batteries, the batteries feed the inverter, and then on to the AC distribution panel? Or does the Alternator feed the inverter directly? And the batteries are charged from a converter fed from the AC panel?