Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-17-2016, 03:19 PM   #1

Lightbulb Building a custom class B on the super-cheap?

Hi -

I'm new to RVs, new to this forum, but not new to finding cheap and creative living situations! Now that I've given up the office rat race for a lifestyle of travel, living in a motorhome is exactly what I intend to do.

Having done several days of research (I'm just getting started here, so go easy on me), I'm shocked by both the prices and degree of luxury of these things. Doesn't anyone want a cheap and tiny, but sturdy and all-inclusive motorhome? My target price for something like this is $15k-$30k. Used chassis is fine. Emphasis nothing fancy: basic, sturdy, non-luxury, basic basic basic building materials.

Here's what I'm looking to build, below. Would really appreciate any leads on anyone who has done something like this before, or who would potentially be able to build one for me.

Vehicle:
  • Van — smallest possible (17-19 feet long), but with standing room. Need to be able to park it in a city parking space.
  • Parts that are common to find at any mechanic
  • Highest fuel efficiency possible (>20 mpg)
  • Spare tire fit underneath back of chassis

Interior (general):
  • Simplest possible. Nothing luxury (E.g., no leather chairs, no fancy wood finish…just simple stuff)
  • Surfaces and materials: fiberglass or high quality plastic. Light metal or sturdy plastic better than wood.
  • Carpet floor, solid dark color.
  • Walls very basic with capacity to mount (e.g., a cork board, coat hooks, etc.
  • A/C and heat interior, not just at dashboard
  • Electrical sockets at kitchen area
  • Sufficient insulation
  • Side + ceiling lighting

Carriage:
  • Empty space between two chairs — all compartments in dashboard
  • Bluetooth connection to speakers (speakers just at the front like a normal vehicle)
  • Chairs swing around