Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-27-2019, 05:07 PM   #1

Default Buying advice

Ok, newbie here with sorta urgent question. Been watching Roadtrek 170 Populars for couple of years. Ready to get one. Just barely missed out last fall on 2004 for $24000. Now hard to find 2004 under $30k. (My upper limit, altho hoping for 2004+ due to Chevy base & age). So last night found
out-of-state a 2006 for $24k. Catch? : 185,000mi. But Vin looks ok, clear.
Says everything else ok. Looking for an inspector out there before I go
flying out. But these go so fast it may be gone before I post this.

So, questions: Is mileage a total dealbreaker? Is lower price a red flag beyond
the mileage?
Have not gotten beyond email yet with owner, but want any advice on what
you might know that I should ask or look for that I may be naive about.
Is it worth pursuing?

Am hoping to take aging husband on some last trip(s), eventually fulltime
in it. So major purchase for me. Thanks for any input!
Trailtrotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 09:16 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trailtrotter View Post
Ok, newbie here with sorta urgent question. Been watching Roadtrek 170 Populars for couple of years. Ready to get one. Just barely missed out last fall on 2004 for $24000. Now hard to find 2004 under $30k. (My upper limit, altho hoping for 2004+ due to Chevy base & age). So last night found
out-of-state a 2006 for $24k. Catch? : 185,000mi. But Vin looks ok, clear.
Says everything else ok. Looking for an inspector out there before I go
flying out. But these go so fast it may be gone before I post this.

So, questions: Is mileage a total dealbreaker? Is lower price a red flag beyond
the mileage?
Have not gotten beyond email yet with owner, but want any advice on what
you might know that I should ask or look for that I may be naive about.
Is it worth pursuing?