Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-30-2014, 09:18 PM   #1

Default changing the electric system, for traveling to england

Hi There campers,
I'm a new member to your forum, [although I've been camping for many years] and and I find it very informative. The question I have for you is, has anyone out there, ever traveled with their CLASS B over to the uk and europe? what did you have to do to change over the electric system to make it compatible with their electric system ? We are thinking of going over there, in the next couple of years or so, [ the good lord willing and the creeks don't rise?] Also any information on shipping the van over there
would be greatly appreciated.So I thought I'd start now, and find out all about it, as I know it will take awhile to put it all together
Hope I didn't get to carried away, asking all those questions! as its only my first post!
Thanking you all in advance, for any help you can give me.
scottyquickfeet
scottyquickfeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 01:15 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Default Re: changing the electric system, for traveling to england

With all the issues and transformers needed, most people leave their rig on this side of the pond, and hire (rent) a "B" when in the UK. A lot cheaper, all ways around.
mlts22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 03:29 AM   #3
Platinum Member

There have been postings where people from Europe have shipped their vans over to the US for touring and saved a ton of money on rentals. But those vans, I believe, are all diesels. It may be cost prohibitive to ship a petrol van from the States over and use it, as gasoline is quite expensive over there.