Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-17-2019, 11:24 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Expansion valve ,suburban water heater

Hi guys, when we were out on the weekend, I noticed when the hot water heater is turned on, we are getting water dripping out of the expansion valve at the top of the suburban water heater, we have not had this before, it’s 20 years old,is it done, am I looking at getting a new valve?, or is there something on this I can repair?, it doesn’t look easy to get out, so I thought I would ask here first before I attempted to remove it,,thanks for any help,,,,take care,,,,
peppster66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 12:19 AM   #2
Bronze Member

I’m no expert but I think water dripping from the pressure & temperature (P&T) relief valve is normal when there isn’t enough of an air pocket at the top of the tank, and it’s normal for the air pocket to get smaller over time. To reestablish the air pocket: turn off the water heater and water sources (pump or city water), open hot water faucet in RV, open P&T relief valve and allow water to flow out until it stops, allow the P&T relief valve to snap shut, turn off the hot water faucet, turn the water supply back on (pump or city water), turn the water heater on and heat the water. It the valve still leaks it might be bad.
jbxr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 12:33 AM   #3
Platinum Member

Thank you, I will try that, and see how it works,,,,,
Old 06-18-2019, 03:20 AM   #4
Platinum Member

Those valves do get weak... if you've gotten twenty years out of it, you have no complaints. I had to change the valve on mine last year. They're available at any hardware store in the plumbing section. Because of the way Suburban mounts it, it'll be a chore to swap it out, but you'll figure it out.
hepcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 01:53 PM   #5