Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-10-2014, 11:37 AM   #1

Default First Shakedown trip

Hello everyone,
We will take our first shakedown trip with the PW sprinter sometime soon (3-4 day trip)
Some class c experience (84 Minnie Winnie,97 fleet wood) but none with a B .
Longer trips in fall & winter coming up. Anything to watch for on the sprinter
That I might miss?
Thanks for any input!!
Quark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 04:02 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Default Re: First Shakedown trip

I'm not a Sprinter expert, but they have some operational quirks that might affect performance, not the least of which is the DEF level in the engine. If it's not up to minimum, the performance will degrade, and eventually the van won't even start, as I understand it.
Depending on where you go, cross winds may be an issue for handling, although there have been mixed reviews of that from different Sprinter owners.
Maybe others with Sprinters can share any issues they've noted from their experience.
Old 05-10-2014, 05:35 PM   #3
Platinum Member

Most important thing in a sprinter. always know where you are in relation to where a sprinter can be fixed. sprinters are technological dreams-they are also serviced/repaired at relatively few places
gerrym51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 06:40 PM   #4
Platinum Member

Excellent point. That includes somewhere where parts are readily available, like near a bigger town, city, or metropolitan area.
Old 05-10-2014, 09:40 PM   #5

Thank,s for the feedback folks!
I understand the def fluid has limited shelf life, but I,ll see it topped off with extra on hand.
I will be traveling through the smokies in early fall and will try to get a feel for wind related