Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2019, 12:47 AM   #1
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: WINDSOR! ONTARIO CANADA
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to sewright33 Send a message via MSN to sewright33 Send a message via Yahoo to sewright33
Default Fridge help asap

Fridge goes fine on propane but not working on hydro.
I have sold it and new owners picking up in two days.
Oh doesn't this always seem the case when selling a rv
It is a beautiful class b with electric bed and electric wall
etc. I have pressed the reset button on the exterior
Outlet and one lights up and the other doesn't. I have
Plugged into each one but not successful
I could really use some help here
Thanks
Ann
__________________

sewright33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 01:44 AM   #2
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: New York
Posts: 1
Default

Just a thought, Battery switch must be on and house batteries should be charged. Also check the fuse panel. It could be a fuse.
Another test is to plug into power to try to see if it chills. If it works on shore power it my well be the house batteries.
__________________

beyond.denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 03:00 AM   #3
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: WINDSOR! ONTARIO CANADA
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to sewright33 Send a message via MSN to sewright33 Send a message via Yahoo to sewright33
Default Fridge

I had the fridge on propane and it worked fine and when I plugged it into hydro it does not work. I see it is plugged into an outlet on the exterior of the van. It has a red light on one plug in and nothing on the other. If i push in one button it goes red and the other nothing vs. I really need some help to know,what the problem is so I can advise the people purchasing the van
Ann
sewright33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 03:15 AM   #4
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: America's Seaplane City, FL
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sewright33 View Post
I had the fridge on propane and it worked fine and when I plugged it into hydro it does not work. I see it is plugged into an outlet on the exterior of the van. It has a red light on one plug in and nothing on the other. If i push in one button it goes red and the other nothing vs. I really need some help to know,what the problem is so I can advise the people purchasing the van
Ann
Model/style of fridge would be most helpful. Does it have direct spark ignition or does it have the push button ignitor?

Not familiar with the whole red light scenario, try plugging in a lamp or something in that outlet to see if there is electricity there.

This will help to localize the problem.
__________________
2000 Roadtrek Chevy 200 Versatile
Fun stuff:
'15 Kawasaki Versys650LT
'98 Kawasaki KLR650
SteveJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 11:07 AM   #5
Platinum Member
 
markopolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 7,814
Default

Is it a tripped ground-fault circuit interrupter ( GFCI ) outlet?

Check for a test button and a reset button.

It's not that uncommon to hear of GFCI outlets not playing nice with RV's. Some GFCI are more sensitive than others.
__________________
Two bikes on sliding cargo box: https://www.classbforum.com/forums/m...icture206.html & 1997 GMC Savana 6.5L Turbo Diesel Custom Camper Van Specifications: https://www.classbforum.com/forums/f...vana-5864.html
markopolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 07:56 PM   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: WA
Posts: 2
Default

I don't know what "hydro" means relative to a fridge, BUT we recently had a problem with our fridge not working on elec. Turned out to be the GFCI outlet in the kitchen. Replaced that and the fridge worked just fine. Quick and inexpensive!
BellMel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 12:12 PM   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Ky
Posts: 8
Default

Just had a similar fridge problem on our fridge. Ours was Dometic 2351. The AC heating element internally was shorting to ground and caused the GFI outlet to trip. Once I got it unplugged the GFI didn't trip anymore. Hopefully it is just the element for 120 volt.
vwmaniaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 03:57 AM   #8
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: California
Posts: 107
Default

Hydro is short for hydroelectric, the source of most AC in Canada.
rvsprinterguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 03:21 PM   #9
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: WA
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvsprinterguy View Post
Hydro is short for hydroelectric, the source of most AC in Canada.
Thanks! We live in Washington where much of the nation's hydro power is generated but I've never heard AC called Hydro. Now I know something new!!
__________________

BellMel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.