Old 05-13-2019, 05:45 PM   #1

Default Generator or not for Roadtrek Agile SS

Hi, as (slightly) aging tent campers in our mid-late 50's, we are looking to become RVers. The Roadtrek Agile SS seems to meet our needs well. I've been looking at used ones and see that many earlier models have generators, later ones have the AGM or Lithium batteries with solar panels and VoltStart. And if I did not misread the used-ads, some have both.

Our camping will probably be include hot summer months and freezing winter months.

I would love to hear the pros and cons of generator vs. battery storage to help guide us to the specs that will help us the most. I'd like to get one that has the 2.1L engine and driver safety aids.

Thanks for any pointer/experiences/opinions!

Atle

PS - I'm an electrical engineer and not necessarily afraid of the battery option and what appears as common repairs needed to keep them going, but I'd rather camp than wrench!

atlebj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 06:48 PM   #2
Platinum Member

My wife and I are also tent campers. Last fall, we bought a 2015 Roadtrek Etrek with 9600 wh AGM's and no voltstart. It does have an under-hood generator that charges the batteries as we drive and a 240w solar panel that tops them off when we are stopped. It has no propane, the heat and hot water are diesel. The stovetop is electric induction.

We are in northern Minnesota and have camped in sub-zero weather with no problem. We did a winter trip and spent a week at Big Bend National Park in Texas at a campground with no water hookups or electricity. We haven't used the AC and don't really plan to in the future. When it got hot on that trip, the fan kept it within the comfort range. We did run the dashboard AC a couple times while driving.