Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2016, 12:17 PM   #1

Default Help Wanted: Dodge Xplorer How Much??

I saw a 1999 Dodge Xplorer listed for $37000 with 52000 miles in good condition. In the photos it looked pretty nice. Of course I will have it looked at, but in the meantime I need help in pricing. I used the Nada as a guide to help me start but there was such a big difference in average price $15K and sellers price $37K.

If it is in a good condition (as the seller said it is and he is willing to negotiate), how much do you think a person should try to negotiate it for??

I'm new to bargaining so any suggestion would help me along. I just don't want to be "that one" that got suckered.
katylin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 01:08 PM   #2
Platinum Member

I took a look. It has a unique combined set of features.

permanent dinette
push button sofa to bed
duallies
rear air suspension
solar - check wattage and type of controller - could be older on/off type
4000W generator
slide out storage tray
awning style windows
good side entry height clearance

Someone should sell a brand new van like that - there probably would be a waiting list!

The long rear overhang would require highway test drive to see how it feels. The air suspension and dual rear wheels would contribute to stability. Sometimes, low mileage indicates the unit was uncomfortable to drive. I'm not suggesting that is the reason for the low mileage at the 3rd owner point for that van - just something to be aware of and check for yourself.

It appears to have across the rear orientation for sleeping on the plan. If so, that mean one person would have to climb over or otherwise disturb the other to get out of bed. The photo however could indicate that is has a front to rear sleeping orientation. That would be nice.