Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-20-2018, 04:47 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default "Lay Flat" Power Sofa Bed Conversion

We are currently shipping for a Class B.

We looked at a Coachmen Galleria 24FL today that has a "true lay flat memory foam power sofa" that converts to the bed for sleeping. We tried it. It is NOT truly flat when it is flattened for use as a bed.

The seating bench is a higher hump than the sofa back when flattened, and that hump is right at the shoulder to upper back level. There is no way that would be comfortable for sleeping; and would be a deal killer for this van.

Anyone have experience with this, or does my dealer just have a bad example of the "true lay flat memory foam power sofa"?
DUTCH in Atlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 02:32 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Welcome to the forum DUTCH!

I have no experience with other models, but our Airstream Avenue Suite bed is nearly flat and surprisingly comfortable. However, you have a valid concern since everything is a compromise in a class b. But my bed shows it can be done (almost).

Just looking at the pictures of some beds, they don't look flat (or level) in a number of ways and I believe many would have the same problem you experienced.

You'll need to test before you buy, or perhaps entertain something with a fixed rear bed like the ERA 170A.

Good luck.
rowiebowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 03:29 AM   #3
Platinum Member

Not exactly answer to your question but related. My DIY sofa-bed, which I modelled on very popular Rock & Roll beds in EU, is very flat. Foam is about 6”, it takes seconds to deploy the bed and unroll the thick mattress pad and seconds to roll it back and slide the bed back to the seating position.