Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-16-2011, 03:37 AM   #1

Default LTV, Boondocking or just plain residing in a Class B?

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here. I want to full time RV, can't afford much and don't think the class C I just bought is the right class of RV for me. I bought a 1983 Fleetwood on a Chevy chassis. 350, auto, freshly tuned. First trip was 6 MPG!!!! UGH! Class C owners were bragging about 10-12 MPG and I though I needed the room. Is there anyone full timing/living in a class B conversion van? Roadtrek, Airstream B190 etc. The MPG must be better. How does it suit you? Condensation problems? How about solar power? Any advice is appreciated. Thanks and happy travels!
satellite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 12:33 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Default Re: LTV, Boondocking or just plain residing in a Class B?

About 30% of B owners full-time or would consider full-timing according to our poll:
http://www.classbforum.com/phpBB2/vi...hp?f=25&t=1214

MPG matters more to some people and not so much to others. For example, the option to sleep 6 people in the RV might be more important than MPG. MPG and ease of parking are at the top of my list. I've had a B+ at 10 mpg or maybe 12mpg, a Class C at 8mpg. It seemed to be 8 mpg no matter what - even when I towed a car. I had a B at 14mpg and my current older diesel van at 17-18mpg.

I saw a B van that had overnighted at a local tourism info center two days ago. The front windows were full of condensation inside. We would leave the driver and passenger windows open just bit to prevent that in our Roadtrek. We had those Ventvisor rain guards on the doors of those windows to prevent any rain from getting in. In our current van we leave the Fantastic fan open just a bit at night.

I've never fulltimed though so someone else here will be better able to speak to that.
markopolo is offline   Reply With Quote