Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-02-2018, 01:16 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Mercedes BlueTec Diesel Article

The mechanic who wrote this says he worked for MB for 50 years. I liked the article because instead of saying "these engines are crap" he says "this is what can go wrong and this is how you can prevent it."

Since I'm not a mechanic and since I elected to go with a gas engine in my van, I have no idea whether what he says is reasonable or not. I'm just providing it as a bit of information for those who have or are considering a MB diesel.

Mercedes-Benz & Sprinter BlueTec Diesel Issues/Problems | Stephens Service Center - Sacramento's Best Mercedes-Benz Service & Repairs
Old 02-02-2018, 01:51 PM   #2
Bud
Platinum Member

"I liked the article because instead of saying "these engines are crap"

I wonder Phoebe3 since:

"I would love to own a Sprinter. If I didn’t know what I know, I would buy one."

Bud
Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 02:20 PM   #3
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoebe3 View Post
The mechanic who wrote this says he worked for MB for 50 years. I liked the article because instead of saying "these engines are crap" he says "this is what can go wrong and this is how you can prevent it."
I would like it even more if wasn't filled with gross inaccuracies and "just so" claims. There are real issues with MB engines (just as there are with those of all of their competitors), but that rant is not the place to learn about them.
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 04:12 PM   #4
Platinum Member

That is a long read, but pretty interesting, I think. His style and attitude kind of remind me of Handybob, and detracts from the substance of what he is trying to say.