Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-28-2013, 10:18 PM   #1

Default Planning to go full time

Guys (and gals?),

Very interesting discussion. I clearly need to do some serious reading on the topic of battery engineering. Are you cats engineers or scientists? As a tax consultant, I'm just barely smart enough to know that this discussion is relevant to me, as I'm interested in setting up a B rig with solar for the purpose of quiet boondocking. Will someone indulge me and opine whether I should spend the money on this project (i.e. dropping $$$ on lithium ions or AGMs) before this charging mystery is solved? I'd love to have confidence that solar charging would not diminish the lifespan of my batteries.

Thanks much for your brains. And your time.

Best,

Dave
Dhowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:37 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Default Re: Rules changing for battery charging?

Solar charging, as an addition to your normal RV charging system(s), will help increase the lifespan of AGM or wet cell lead acid batteries.

I'm not sure of the effect on LiFePO4 (lithium) batteries. I've read some stuff that indicates that LiFePO4 batteries do better when stored at less than 100% state of charge. One article I read gave 80% SOC in storage being good for LiFePO4 batteries.
markopolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 11:22 PM   #3
Platinum Member

Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan