Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-12-2012, 11:31 PM   #1
Gold Member

Default Propane Leak? Ran out of Propane? You decide!

(I'm a teacher..gotta put this in test format! LOL!)

Read the following passage and choose the best answer below:

An RVer who owns a 2011 PleasureWay Plateau with a 12 US gallon propane tank fills her tank prior to her big summer trip. She then spends 13 days and nights living in her RV. All but 5 nights were dry camping. The fridge ran on propane for 8 days. All 13 days she use propane to boil water for coffee & to heat the water (she prefers to turn the hot water heater on as needed rather than let it stay on). She also ran her propane generator for approx 4 -5 continuous hours during an especially loud and hot night in a Wal-Mart parking lot. She put the RV away, with all systems off, for about 2 weeks and then went on another 10 day trip. This 10 day trip was ALL dry camping. The fridge ran on propane almost continuously - except for the 2 days that she spent driving to and from. Also boiled a kettle of water every morning for coffee and ran the hot water heater daily. She ran the generator for exactly 1 hour one day to charge the battery. When she returned she put the RV into storage with all the systems off. Then, ready to go on another trip and when she turned all the systems on discovered that the propane tank was empty. This came as a surprise to her, however, since she's not very good at keeping an eye on the LPG gauge she has no idea how much was in the tank when she put the RV away.

Choose the best answer:
A) The RV sprang a random leak and all the propane leaked out while it was in storage.
B) The RV simply ran out of propane due to operator error in not checking the gauge and there is nothing wrong with the system.
teachergal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 11:36 PM   #2
Platinum Member