Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2018, 01:26 AM   #1
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 92
Default Propane level doesn't work

I have a 2006 Roadtrek SS Agile and my propane level doesn't seem to be working. Any insight?
__________________

bigfelipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 03:10 AM   #2
BBQ
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East
Posts: 2,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfelipe View Post
I have a 2006 Roadtrek SS Agile and my propane level doesn't seem to be working. Any insight?
Which level?

The one on the tank?
or the one at the panel?


It is expensive to replace the float sensor.

Most don't do well even in the best of times
__________________

__________________
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 03:13 AM   #3
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
Which level?

The one on the tank?
or the one at the panel?


It is expensive to replace the float sensor.

Most don't do well even in the best of times
Panel. Reads full. Gen died like it's empty.
bigfelipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 03:26 AM   #4
Platinum Member
 
eric1514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: ID AZ
Posts: 622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfelipe View Post
Panel. Reads full. Gen died like it's empty.
Crawl under the van and read the gauge on the tank. See if it also reads empty.
eric1514 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 05:21 AM   #5
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eric1514 View Post
Crawl under the van and read the gauge on the tank. See if it also reads empty.
I'll check it out in the morning. Never been under the tank before. Didn't know there was another gauge.
bigfelipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 05:28 AM   #6
Platinum Member
 
Knit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 169
Default Propane level doesn't work

You donít have to crawl under. Itís at the side of the van.
Knit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 05:35 AM   #7
Platinum Member
 
Knit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 169
Default Propane level doesn't work

The lpg tank is to the right of the driver door. There is a guage there.
Knit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 01:10 PM   #8
BBQ
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East
Posts: 2,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfelipe View Post
Panel. Reads full. Gen died like it's empty.

Most likely a loose wire (or a crossed wire, or a short wire).
__________________
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 02:32 PM   #9
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knit View Post
The lpg tank is to the right of the driver door. There is a guage there.
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric1514 View Post
Crawl under the van and read the gauge on the tank. See if it also reads empty.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
Most likely a loose wire (or a crossed wire, or a short wire).

OK. So I crawled under the van this morning. There is no gauge anywhere I can see. Not on the side of the van, not inside the panel with the filler connection, not on the tank. I tapped on the tank. It sounds empty. I looked over the 2-wire connection I assume is the level sending unit. It looks to be ok. Nothing frayed or shorted looking.

Did I miss something?
bigfelipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 02:47 PM   #10
BBQ
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East
Posts: 2,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfelipe View Post
OK. So I crawled under the van this morning. . . .

I looked over the 2-wire connection I assume is the level sending unit. It looks to be ok. Nothing frayed or shorted looking.

Did I miss something?

Check the wire connection at the panel.



Do you have a multi-meter?
You can check for continuity and signal.
__________________
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 02:50 PM   #11
BBQ
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East
Posts: 2,484
Default

.

You should have a gauge like this
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 14523273_1305337092831675_6357910096463650670_n.jpg (52.2 KB, 9 views)
__________________
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 04:05 PM   #12
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
.

You should have a gauge like this
nope. not on my rig...


EDIT: AH HA! You are correct sir! Mine is a bit smaller around. The gauge plastic was worn to the point I couldn't tell it was transparent. I had to look at it twice to tell it was a gauge. I cleaned it up with some rubbing compound and I can read it now! Thanks.
bigfelipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 04:09 PM   #13
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 92
Default

Have a bigger issue now. Gauges will have to wait. I got it refilled. Now the generator won't stay running... Fires right up, idles for a bit then cuts out. I checked the oil and it was low so I topped it off thinking it could be a low-oil shut off. Still the same. It will run for a bit but won't rev up and handle a load. I'm supposed to be on the road to FL in an hour... This is really crappy timing...
bigfelipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 04:13 PM   #14
BBQ
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East
Posts: 2,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfelipe View Post
Have a bigger issue now. Gauges will have to wait. I got it refilled. Now the generator won't stay running... Fires right up, idles for a bit then cuts out. I checked the oil and it was low so I topped it off thinking it could be a low-oil shut off. Still the same. It will run for a bit but won't rev up and handle a load. I'm supposed to be on the road to FL in an hour... This is really crappy timing...
When was the last time you use the gen?

How often do you use the gen?
__________________
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 04:14 PM   #15
BBQ
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East
Posts: 2,484
Default

.

Search for Red Rover Onan trouble shooting guide.
__________________
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 04:24 PM   #16
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
When was the last time you use the gen?

How often do you use the gen?
Last night when I ran out of propane. I use the gen regularly to exercise it. I run it under load for at least a half hour every week. It's not had any issues until now. Of course this was my 1st time running it out of propane and refilling the propane... Now that I have a gauge to go by I'll not let that happen again.
bigfelipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 04:29 PM   #17
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
.

Search for Red Rover Onan trouble shooting guide.
I read it. It lists a bunch about gas but doesn't mention propane.
bigfelipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 04:39 PM   #18
Platinum Member
 
Boxster1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfelipe View Post
Last night when I ran out of propane. I use the gen regularly to exercise it. I run it under load for at least a half hour every week. It's not had any issues until now. Of course this was my 1st time running it out of propane and refilling the propane... Now that I have a gauge to go by I'll not let that happen again.

If you ran out of propane that might be what caused problems. Try using some other LP appliances to get the flow to all parts of the system.


- - Mike
2012 Sprinter 3500 Extended converted B-Van by Airstream
__________________
2013 Airstream Interstate Lounge EXT on 2012 Sprinter 3500 170Ext
Formerly: 1973 Dodge B300 DIY pop-top conversion
Boxster1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 04:51 PM   #19
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boxster1971 View Post
If you ran out of propane that might be what caused problems. Try using some other LP appliances to get the flow to all parts of the system.


- - Mike
2012 Sprinter 3500 Extended converted B-Van by Airstream
All other appliances are working and the gen runs but not well. I'm wondering if running out of LP messed something up?
bigfelipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 07:52 PM   #20
BBQ
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East
Posts: 2,484
Default

.

The problem is a simple one.

Your propane regulator has a built-in anti-leak shut-off valve.
If the regulator detects an abnormally high-rate of gas flow, it will shut down the regulator.

This often happens when people run out of propane and drained the hose. When you refilled the propane and turn on the valve, the gas will rush to pressurize the hose, and the detector would mistaken it as a leak and shut down the valve.

What you have to do is to shut off the valve at the tank. Wait a bit for the regulator to reset itself. Then turn on the valve at the tank S-L-O-W-L-Y, so that the gas does not rush out to trigger the anti-leak shut-off valve.

Good luck.
__________________

__________________
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×