Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-04-2018, 01:34 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Angry Ram ProMaster water draining onto engine

For those that own a Ram ProMaster van/camper there is a large discussion about water draining into the engine compartment. This water can cause damage to the serpentine belt and electronics on the drivers side when water gets into the engine compartment. Here is the URL about this problem.
https://www.promasterforum.com/forum...ad.php?t=84639
I have this same problem on my Winnebago Trend and correcting the problem. Reports of serpentine belt breaking from frozen water and electronic problems from water intrusion.

MLogan
2017 Trend 23D
Smyrna, TN
mloganusda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 01:28 PM   #2
Bronze Member

I have been fighting that issue since I got my 2015 Pleasure-Way Lexor TS. I took it to the dealer at that time and they didn't know what to do. I am out of the warranty period but FCA has told me if there is a fix it will be done under warranty since there is a work order for it. I have also filed a claim with NHSTA, two weeks ago, and they have replied with more questions which I answered.

Did you solve the issue and if so what did you do?
Thank you.
Old 11-05-2018, 02:17 PM   #3
Platinum Member

Here are photos of what I have done to slow water getting into the engine bay. I have sealed the middle of the cowl, as there is a foam piece between the two pieces, as the foam does not stop water from dripping. Even after sealing the middle seam, it still leaks some.

MLogan
Trend 23D
Smyrna, TN
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Hood Rubber Seal.JPG (1,015.4 KB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg Seal alonside headlight.JPG (695.3 KB, 56 views)
File Type: jpg Space between Hood and body.JPG (751.2 KB, 57 views)
mloganusda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 02:31 PM   #4
Bronze Member

Thank you for the fast reply.