Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-23-2018, 06:49 PM   #1
Bronze Member

Default Roadtrek 210 Popular - HELP

Hello all....I'm a newb with some questions about a specific model Class B. My wife and I are interested in a 2017 Roadtrek 210 Popular. I keep hearing the term bulletproof on this model because it has been around so long and on the Chevy chassis. I have read about some air conditioner problems, but it appeared this was on older models. I was curious if there are any 210 Popular owners or past owners that could shed light on the PROS and CONS? Thanks in advance for any help.
HawkTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 07:12 PM   #2
Platinum Member

We are Chevy 190 owners, not 210, but any real issues affect both IMO.

They sit low, and have tendencies to bottom out easily and damage things underneath. It is addressable with various levels of cost, normally in the $1000 or a bit more range.

The 210s have fairly low cargo capacity, depending on how they are optioned. Roadtrek's current system of rating the capacity is very deceptive IMO, so be very careful about what they tell you. A fully optioned 210 with two fairly large occupants may only have about 500# of cargo capacity left.

The four speed transmission version tend to run hot in the mountains, the 6 speeds seem to not get hot.

Brakes can have a tendency to judder when very hot in mountains. Pad/rotor improvements fix readily.

The side entry door can be a bit low for taller folks, compared to the full height Sprinters and Promasters.

Positives are that they are under 9' tall, which is very nice, even with AC.

They drive very well stock, and can be made even better if desired.

Lots of storage space.

They can be repaired anywhere.

Very comfortable front seats IMO.

Very good reliability.

Decent fuel economy, especially with the 6 speed. Regular gas.

Good power.