Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2008, 03:42 PM   #11
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiskyecho
..I'll report back on the swap..
It was buggin' me - couldn't wait - tried it - reporting back:

I did the switch - black from center to the left/left white to the center.

My ota antenna is now sending pics from many channels to the tv ! Hmmmmm ?

(after the cable swap I tried hooking-up my Digital Stream converter box - I'm getting reception but only from the "normal" channels - no digital - I might have to move my Van from it's "stealth" location (out of view from the prying eyes of our assn. weasel) to somewhere in the open - but I'm not concerned about that at this time)

Thanks Mike
__________________

Whiskyecho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 04:12 PM   #12
Platinum Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 3,207
Default

No problem, glad I could help.
I was amazed too once I got the cables sorted out at just what I could get OTA with the stock TV/antenna/booster combo.
I'm going to install and try my ATSC tuner today sometime. It's the Artec T3A Pro, supposed to be pretty good. I live near the Niagara Escarpment, so I'm planning to do a little reconnaisance mission up top to see what I can get from over the lake to the south. I already get a couple of Buffalo stations (I know, why would you want to? ), but they're really not very good. I get PBS and Fox in the UHF range pretty well from the US.
As a side topic, I was looking for a couple of extra A/B switches and short cables to hook the digital tuner in so I can bypass it if there aren't any digital signals available where we're parked. I discovered that Philips makes an ultra thin coax cable for TV/Video, and it's available at my local Dollarama. The connectors are standard, but the cable is like a piece of string in thickness. I picked up 2 12' cables for $2. They also make a 25' length. Same price. I'll be using them today, so I'll report back about whether they work well or not.

Mike.
__________________

__________________
It's not a sprint(er) (unless you make it one), it's (hopefully) a marathon.
RV - 2018 Navion 24V + TV - 2016 JKU
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 04:40 PM   #13
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike
..BTW, I needed a flashlight and a magnifying glass to read the position markings on the A/B switch in the TV cabinet, myself..
Yep, just did that too - and also needed the glass and flashlight.

Reading markings from the "switch", left to right, the connections say:

left = Cable B
center = TV
right = Cable A

Would guess yours is the same. I'm thinking about going back to the KOA and trying "everything" (their cable, ota and ota w/converter) - just for grins.

Cables: I noticed that the RCA cable, connecting my DVD player to the Van's TV, was just a bit too short - so I replaced its 5' length with a 6' one. I also carry an S Video cable and a pair of the slip-on RG cables (just in case I find something I can't live without while on the road)

(by the way - my older, non-HD DTV receivers had a cable connection but my new HD receivers don't - so - I've gotta use an outside source as a hook-up-to device).

Have a good one.
Whiskyecho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 02:38 AM   #14
Platinum Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sarnialabad, The Newly Elected People's Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 3,207
Default

Well, I finally got the Artec digital box installed as an alternate path from the antenna side of the built in switch, and I'm still looking for my socks. I used the 2 ultra-thin Philips coax cables and a 12V cigarette adaptor (the Artec comes with a two pronged 100v to 12v adaptor, which I can't use easily, no inverter) which I had lying around, and bought 2 A/B switches (about $6 each) at Home Depot to complete the bridge around the straight analog feed. Once I hooked it all up, and set the A/B switches to bypass the analog only feed, I ran the channel auto-program, and voila, cable quality digital pictures from several local stations.
I threaded the ultra thin coax and power wire up through the hole to the first shelf, and connected them to the tuner, so it sits there above the TV. The ultra thin coaxes allow some flexibility in positioning the tuner if the TV below it is pulled out of the cabinet and turned towards the back and beds. Just in case the remote needs a more direct view of the face of the Artec, I can sit it on top of the TV. So far it doesn't seem to, but I've got fresh batteries in it.
So far, I like the Artec digital tuner. It has an aspect ratio control which allows you to use the transmitted picture size, or choose from 3 other picture sizing options, depending on the shape of your TV screen. It has pretty much all the other usual bells and whistles you'd expect from a satellite or digital cable box. It does display the station identifier along with the channel number on screen as you change channels, so if you know your TV affiliate's alpha call letters you can pick out your favorite network pretty easily. I seem to recall, while searching for a suitable tuner, reading about an on screen programming guide, but haven't found it yet, if it exists on this model.
Channels: I don't know how often they update their lists, but here's a link to the Digiwave Technologies website. If you scroll down and look on the left side of the page for the "FTA" and "OTA" sections, there are some fairly extensive channel lists. I converted one of them to PDF (Firefox add on PDF Download has a save as PDF option) and will keep it on my desktop for reference. You can probably save it as a text file, with IE, if you like.
http://www.digiwavetechnologies.com/

Enjoy,
Mike.
__________________
It's not a sprint(er) (unless you make it one), it's (hopefully) a marathon.
RV - 2018 Navion 24V + TV - 2016 JKU
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 01:37 PM   #15
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 159
Default

I too finished the install of my (DigitalStream) converter box - with the Van hidden in it's "stealthy" location I'm getting 6 digital stations (albeit they're all Kids & Religious stations this Saturday morning - will check them again at the 1st of the week - just for grins).

Without having to physically drive there I'd like to get closer to Houston to see what I could pick up.

I've yet to return to the KOA to "make sure" the external Cable connection still works in this configuration - but will do that as time permits.

Speakers: I've found that a set of external speakers are needed for easy listening to the TV (or DVD) - especially when the A/C is operating - so I carry a set of smallish self amplified speakers. Those, however, are suffering from a short in the wiring which can't be gotten to. My "fix" is to "giggle the wire" until sound happens - then try not to move so as to keep the sound.

I've brought those inside the house and will exchange them for one of the speaker sets we use with our desktops (rather than spring for a new pair).

These in-between trips times are 'sposed to be used for these little jobs - right ?
__________________

Whiskyecho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.