Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-26-2019, 06:22 PM   #1

Default RV Dealership Servicing question

We've been going back and forth whether to do a van conversion (my preference) or buy a new one such as Travato 59K or Thor Sequence (my wife's preference). We were almost ready to buy one when I started researching warranty and repair work at various dealerships. Literally every dealership I looked at (western coast) had service horror stories in Google and Yelp reviews. Service taking weeks and not getting done correctly or way over priced. Is it really as bad as these reviews indicate? I can see how it would be difficult to find trained service personnel given the quantity and complexity of all these different RVs. One of the main advantages (in my mind) of converting from scratch is I will be able to service (and upgrade) it myself over time. I'm an engineer and completely comfortable with the electronics and plumbing. Newbie (first post) and have never owned an RV (rented a Travato 59G though). thanks in advance for all feedback.
sneval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 07:50 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by sneval View Post