Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-08-2016, 06:10 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default RV Handling Issues

I thought a very general discussion on improving handling issues might be useful for folks who don't know where to start to correct problems.

I'm not an expert in this.

I'd start with:

1. tire pressures - assuming the tires are still good
2. if equipped with air suspension bags - check and adjust pressure
3. alignment - take it to an alignment shop & get it aligned
4. if there's a shake or shimmy at speed then the wheel balancing could be needed
5. new shocks - heavy duty shocks like Bilsteins should get things like porpoising under control
6. have bushings inspected and replace if worn out
7. install rear air bags (I think I'd do this before installing a sway bar - comments needed)
8. install rear sway bar
9. install new front coils

Hopefully, for your wallet, you won't have to go down too far on the list.

As mentioned, I'm not an expert. There are members here that truly understand this stuff and are very helpful answering questions.
markopolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 11:07 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Consider upgrading from rubber bushings to polyurethane. They might be a little squeakier, but they are more durable. This can be done at any time, but typically done at replacement time.

Shocks. Some older RV's came with skinny automotive shocks. These worked properly for about a week (exaggeration). New shocks for RV's are heavy duty and made to withstand the 8-10,000+ pounds we have on them.