Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-18-2016, 10:33 PM   #1

Default Safe reliable camper van recommendations

Hello!
I am just beginning to research camper vans and came across this forum. Can any of you "experts" tell me what I should be looking for when it comes to purchasing a used camper van? What brands, models do you recommend? We don't want an RV, we want a van that has a bed, sink, fridge, stove, toilet. We'd like to keep the price under $20,000.00
I checked consumer reports and can't find anything on used camper vans. Thanks for any suggestions!
Anne
annetheking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 11:24 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Hi Ann,

Welcome to the forum.

A van that has a bed, sink, fridge, stove and a toilet is an RV. What do you mean when you say that you don't want an RV?

William
WJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 11:30 PM   #3

I'm referring to the size of the rig. I want it to be the size of a van versus a box truck. Does that make sense?
Old 07-18-2016, 11:37 PM   #4
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by annetheking View Post
I'm referring to the size of the rig. I want it to be the size of a van versus a box truck. Does that make sense?
Sure does! So, you've figured out from day one that the ideal choice is a class B. You'll obviously find a lot of sympathy for that way of thinking here!

Could you tell us how you plan to use it? Will it be mostly weekends in campgrounds? Long trips boondocking? How many of you will there be?

Do you want to buy new, used, recent or a vehicle with lots of experience?

William
WJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 11:43 PM   #5
BBQ
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by annetheking View Post
Yes, you have come to the right place.

The box-van type is called Class C RV.

The panel van type is called Class B RV.
That's what this forum is all about.