Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-10-2017, 02:57 AM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Total newbie, microwave isn't working

This is the first time I've taken my RV out (any RV on my own) and plugged it in. I wanted to use the microwave but it's as if it doesn't have power. It's old and I bought it from a private party, so no dealer walk through.

I'm probably doing something wrong, I was surprised when I flipped the fuses the lights didn't go out, does that mean it's running off the battery and not the electrical connection? I did turn on the 30 amp fuse (I had a choice of 50, 30 or 20) at the power pole (whatever you call it).

Help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Not sure I can even replace this microwave, it's TINY!
Lennie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 03:06 AM   #2
BBQ
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lennie View Post
This is the first time I've taken my RV out (any RV on my own) and plugged it in. I wanted to use the microwave but it's as if it doesn't have power. It's old and I bought it from a private party, so no dealer walk through.

I'm probably doing something wrong, I was surprised when I flipped the fuses the lights didn't go out, does that mean it's running off the battery and not the electrical connection? I did turn on the 30 amp fuse (I had a choice of 50, 30 or 20) at the power pole (whatever you call it).

Help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Not sure I can even replace this microwave, it's TINY!

Model, year.

Pictures.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 03:34 AM   #3
Platinum Member

This may be a 2005 PW Plateau...member has posted on that vehicle before

are you getting power to the rest of your van- the 120 volt ( like your house) outlets work?

you may have GFCI outlets near your sink(s) check that the reset buttons on these are pushed in.