Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-23-2017, 09:55 PM   #1

Default used class B purchase help

Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum (and the RV world) and hoping to get some guidance from the experts. There is a 2007 Leisure Travel Free Spirit 22Ft van with Mercedes Turbo Diesel and 229K miles asking for $35K. There were many options added, and recent thorough maintenance/services performed. I am very interested in this RV mainly due to its low price, but am concerned about the high mileage, given that I am new to RV and not planning to work on the vehicle myself (I am a female). I think that it's the lowest priced Mercedes Sprinter based class B right now. Is this a good deal or too good to be true? Can you guys help on things that I should ask, watch out for, or any other advice that you can give me on purchasing a used class B?

Thank you all for your help in advance!
Jean
rvdreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 11:01 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Just my thoughts:

That's a lot of miles for a 10 year old vehicle. It's around 1,900 miles every month for 10 years. More than 10,000 gallons of fuel used I'd expect. I wonder if it was ever a rental unit?

If you're really considering it then I think it would be worth paying for a Carfax / Carproof report for its history. I'd also do a title search / lien search to find out if there's any money owed on it. I'd also suggest contacting your insurance agent to find out how much they'd value the RV at in the event of a loss.

If you buy it, just as you are concerned about the high mileage before purchase so will others be when you try to sell it.
markopolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 11:21 PM   #3
Platinum Member

too many miles for me.

so, advice for selecting:

gas or diesel

diesel provides better mpg, but the increased cost reduces the $ advantage.