Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-31-2019, 12:51 AM   #1

Default winterizing hot water lines ?

This is my first time for winterizing my 97 PW stw and I am stumped . I've watch lots of videos and read articles and am now ready to do it . But wait , there seams to be some hurdles .I drained all my tanks --- fresh water , hot water , grey and black . First my owners manual says to" turn the hot water bypass valveS in the opposite direction" than they are now in . (a) there is only one valve not two ( I confirmed with PW manufacturer ); (b) presently the valve lever was in the down position , inline with the pipe --- is opposite position perpendicular to the pipe line or should it be in the up position( opposite to the down position ) ? Ok so I believe it should be perpendicular so I proceeded to put the lever perpendicular .(c) Now I turn on my water pump and all my taps to drain residual water . Water flows from cold water taps but NOTHING from hot water taps .(d) Once the taps are all drained I then switch the water pump bypass valve and proceed to pump antifreeze through the taps etc . Again liquid ( antifreeze) flows through all cold water taps but not a drop from hot water taps . WHAT AM I DOING WRONG . ?
gowason@rogers.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 01:50 AM   #2
Site Team

Water heater tank bypass valves almost always have at least two valves. The idea is to bypass the tank so you don't have to fill it with pink stuff. If you only found one, that is very likely your problem. You have probably shut off the normal feed without opening the bypass. You need to figure this out.

OR:
Just forget the whole messy, yucky rigamarole and use the compressed air method of winterizing. Plenty of websites on how to do it. Far superior IMO. Just do it carefully.
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 02:02 AM   #3