Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-06-2019, 02:18 AM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Anybody use Michelin Tire Fix In A Can?

Walmart was closing out their Michelin Emergency Tire Puncture Repair in a can. For $3 bucks, I had to try it. It's their "Large Tire" size, so theoretically will do the job on my class b. I've never used a temporary product like this before, but if it works well enough to limp to a repair shop and doesn't screw up anything, it could be a great tool to carry in my van.

rowiebowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2019, 02:39 AM   #2
Platinum Member

If it has sealant in it, the tire shop you limp to will not be pleased, as it can mess up repairs because it needs to be cleaned out. They also will only work on relatively small leaks, can't say about how well it would hold at 80 psi. I wouldn't be surprised if it took two cans for a big tire at 80 psi like our vans. You see a lot of them used in new cars now instead of spares or runflats.
booster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2019, 03:27 AM   #3
Platinum Member

Can label says it's a "latex" product and not the sticky green "slime". I agree it will still be a mess for the tire repairman, but not sure if I care that much if the alternative is pulling out the jack.

It is the "Large Tire" size so big enough to seal, but 80 psi is probably not realistic. I carry an inflator and the can is just intended to get you a maximum of 50 miles down the road (at a slower speed than normal).
Old 10-14-2019, 01:17 PM   #4
Silver Member