Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-10-2019, 12:41 AM   #1

Default All season class B?

Hello! I’m fairly new to the Rv world. All season class B is what sparked my interest, but I’m having troubles understanding what “all season” really means. If such a class B exists that you can survive cold temparures in comfortably that would be incredible !
Denzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 01:15 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denzel View Post
Hello! I’m fairly new to the Rv world. All season class B is what sparked my interest, but I’m having troubles understanding what “all season” really means. If such a class B exists that you can survive cold temparures in comfortably that would be incredible !
Welcome to the forum Denzel!

A 4-season rv is what you appear to suspect. One that is capable of camping in below freezing weather. It is difficult to assure an rv can actually do that, but it usually involves tanks and water lines that reside inside the occupied portion of the coach and thus are warmed by the rv heater. Sometimes, it includes tanks and lines that are external, but that are insulated or heated to prevent freezing. Again, to what low temperature this is effective, is the question.
rowiebowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 05:41 AM   #3

Are 4 Season RV’s fairly new to the market then?
Old 02-10-2019, 11:09 AM   #4
Platinum Member

Quote:
Are 4 Season RV’s fairly new to the market then?
Pretty common in Europe and not as common over here.
gregmchugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 11:15 AM   #5
Platinum Member

Waste tank size seems to be the biggest limiter to extended winter camping. Next would be the lack of open facilities to empty those tanks. Another issue is that the amount of fuel needed for heat would get costly if not plugged in.