Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-10-2019, 06:37 PM   #1

Default ProAir Undermount compressor failure #3

I just had my third undermount compressor replaced. Indirectly, the cause is running the AC while on shore power. Under battery or engine it runs great. On shore power the compressor will cycle on/off in about 30 second periods. It only does this under shore power. Evidently, this overheats the compressor motor (I have a 24 volt system) and after a short time it is dead. The motor shows signs of overheating.

Pro Air cannot explain why this happens. I'm an electrical engineer and do not have have a clue... They are pointing to the inverter/charger. Maybe, but I can't think of a failure mode that would cause harm to the motor. The charger has no problem charging my lithium batteries (CS2015).

Anybody out there have a similar story??
robkrohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 08:16 PM   #2
Site Team

Weird. It almost has to be voltage-related, somehow.

I would recommend setting up some kind of data logger and observing the voltages present at the compressor under the various power-source scenarios.
Arduino, maybe?
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 08:17 PM   #3
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by robkrohn View Post
I just had my third undermount compressor replaced. Indirectly, the cause is running the AC while on shore power. Under battery or engine it runs great. On shore power the compressor will cycle on/off in about 30 second periods. It only does this under shore power. Evidently, this overheats the compressor motor (I have a 24 volt system) and after a short time it is dead. The motor shows signs of overheating.