Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-24-2017, 12:24 AM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Shock Absorber Installation

I installed new Monroes today on my 2000 RT Dodge 350. ( Rear only. I will do fronts next weekend since it is 100 degrees now in Dallas Texas.) Job took about 2 hours ( I am an amateur). I backed up the van on to a pair of ramps and worked on my back in my driveway. No jack needed. I only needed a 3/4" wrench AND a 3/4" socket on a breaker bar. I have not driven it yet... waiting until the job is complete. ...... did I mention it is HOT here?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg shock1.JPG (41.0 KB, 16 views)
gklugie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 04:45 PM   #2
Platinum Member

I did mine a little while ago- in PHX

get up early and a little trickle hose dampening the pavement will cool the air through evaporation if the dew point is low- or if you can arrange a mist of water into the air nearby.

my fronts of the chev were way easy- wheels left in place

I detail the bilsteins onto chev 3500 in a thread from a month or so ago

Mike
mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2017, 01:46 AM   #3
Platinum Member

I tried to install my front Monroe shocks today. Bah. I could not get the nut off the upper threaded shaft. The shaft spun no matter how I tried to hold it (double "d" shock socket, vice grips, etc.) Got a bit P.O.-d .....then I took the rig to a mechanic. He installed them for $75.

Wow. The 17 year Roadtrek rides nice now. No porpoising ! (I suspect it had the original shocks with 115,000 miles on them)

I am rewarding myself tonight with a cold Stella Artois.
Old 07-29-2017, 03:09 PM   #4
Bronze Member

I need to replace my 2002 dodge 3500 coach house shocks too. do you have the part number or link so I can order them?
dvrdwn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 02:00 PM   #5
Platinum Member

I got mine at Rockauto.com